What Helps You Grow?

In a recent message I built my thoughts and comments around some interesting words found in the New Testament book of Colossians. Here they are from chapter one, verses twenty-eight and twenty-nine. “We proclaim him, admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom, so that we may present everyone perfect in Christ. To this end I labor, struggling with all his energy, which so powerfully works in me.”

This says to me that the work of Gods leaders is to present everyone they can “perfect in Christ” to the Lord. That sounds daunting, if not impossible, until you understand what “perfect” means. It can mean absolutely sinless. Or it can mean mature and full grown. In this case the word means the latter, mature and full grown.

God wants us to grow up in our relationship with Christ. He wants us to become full grown, mature followers of Him. He wants us to move from spiritual milk to solid spiritual food. He wants us to grow up to become all He wants us to be.

What are some disciplines and practices in your life that help to grow you up as a Christ follower? Let’s be honest, it won’t happen by accident. It will only happen by intention. So what do you intentionally do to help grow you?

One thing I do is keep an appointment with God each morning (or most mornings) at the same time for a little reading, either from the Bible or a good book that will grow me. It gets my thinking in the right direction as I begin the day.

Another thing I do is exercise and pray. I am a speed walker. I walk 3-4 miles a day three or four times a week. I always spend a large part of that time talking with God. It is so refreshing to be outside walking and talking with the creator of it all.

I am also on the lookout for ways that I can help my neighbors. That includes those near and far but especially those right around me. I want to exercise my faith in practical serving ways to those I connect with on a regular basis.

These are a few of the “practices” of my life that stimulate me to grow in my faith and relationship with Christ. What about you? What do you do that helps you grow. Would you be willing to share one or two with our readers so that we can learn from each other? Come on! Hit “Add a Comment” and let us hear from you.

3 thoughts on “What Helps You Grow?

  1. I think you covered it!! I try to read from the Bible every morning, I try to pray when I wake AND as I am preparing for sleep, I try to read from christian authors as often as I can ( I like Phillip Yancey, Max Lucado, and C.S. Lewis) and I surf christian sites on the web when I can…need to add the exercise regime…but with my insane work schedule, its easy to say I don’t have time…I have resumes ready if anyone has any suggestions…

  2. What a great topic! I too walk and pray, I call it “J” walking (the “J” is for Jesus). I read from the bible daily and try to pray throughout the day, greeting God in the morning with “Dear Lord” and saying goodnight to Him with “Amen”. Kneeling to pray helps me remember that He is in charge, not me. Being in a women’s bible study is an essential part of my spiritual growth, I could not go without the accountability and support I receive there. Listening to praise music in the car and at home is a great way for me to be reminded of God’s nature and promises. Of course some days are less lazy than others…

Leave a Reply

