“I Hate My Job”

I am going to change directions with my blogging for awhile. Though at times I will address other subjects, I am for the most part going to use my blog to further discuss or get input on subjects I talk about at our Sunday gatherings. I invite your comments about issues I have already addressed or ones that I will be teaching on in the near future.

So let’s start with this one. This week in our study through the New Testament book of Colossians we are talking about the work place setting. With all men (or almost all) in the work force and over 50% of the women, I would be interested in your word or brief phrase that describes how you feel about your work. Here are some examples of how others responded when asked the same question.

“I enjoy work. My kids like to eat. I enjoy the camaraderie with the guys. It’s good. I’ve got to pay my bills and make a living.”

“What I think about work is you have to do it so hopefully you’re doing something you like so just not complain about it.”

“I don’t really mind it, but it’s not something I want to do every single day.”

“Work’s great when you’re on your lunch hour. But if you like what you’re doing it’s really fun and that’s the way it should be.”

“Work? Work is a necessary evil. You owe bills so you’ve got to pay. If I didn’t owe bills and had a lot of money I wouldn’t work.”

“It’s a necessity now. We have to work. If I had my druthers I think I would probably go golfing every day. But we don’t have the luxury of doing those types of things.”

“What do I think of work? Work is too much time spent at a place I don’t want to be. I’d much rather be in business for myself and making time for myself and spending more time with the family than spending ten or twelve hours a day doing a job for somebody else, making somebody else rich.”

So, what’s a word that would describe how you feel about your work? Don’t worry, I won’t give this to your boss.

You will spend approximately 40% of your life at work, your job — about 150,000 hours. Surveys show that about 1/3 of Americans say “I hate my job.” Other surveys show that nearly 2/3 of Americans are in the wrong job. You can even like your job and not be in the one that is best suited for what you are. Even many people who are successful at work really don’t feel very fulfilled by their work. They are making money, they have a lot of income, but they don’t really feel fulfilled by their work.

How do you feel about your work? I would be interested in hearing.

7 thoughts on ““I Hate My Job”

  1. I don’t love my job, but enjoy it for a bunch of reasons:

    * building or helping to improve systems, usually software (technical stuff)
    * helping people (the people)
    * getting to know people both in my division and the rest of the “users” (the people)
    * opportunity to learn more about what I do (technical stuff)
    * being part of a team that really meshes well together (the people)

    It only seems sensible to at least like your job and at least do your best in the job. If you hate it, how exactly can you do your best at it? Yes it does provide for my family money, but *many* jobs can do that (and some certainly pay more).

  2. It’s not answering your question, but it’s related to the issue of work – life balance: “Finding a Balance” from RELEVANT Magazine.

  3. So if this is the way you feel about your job are you the rule or the exception?

  4. Not all of it. I generally believe most that do software like me enjoy the building (probably less interested in the improving) systems, and the opportunity to learn more. Probably 50% would enjoy being part of a team.
    But I don’t think the general consensus in IT (my industry) is to get to know people and help people… I could state some general beliefs held about end users but they aren’t exactly loving statements 🙂

  5. You picked the wrong week/month to ask – I’m in the 1/3 right now that hate their job. Before I rant on about why I hate my job – let me first say this – I am grateful I have one. I’m grateful for the opportunity it provides – for the people I work with all over the world – for the fact that I can work from home. BUT…..I hate the pressure when things don’t go perfectly – I hate the impossible expectations that the client and sr.mgmt put on project managers and developers – I hate that the pressure and stress flows into my personal life – I hate the constant PAPERWORK – the tedious paperwork that must be done to prove that you’re doing your job the “right way” – and most of all I hate the fact that I HAVE to work.

    I want a job that stops when I leave the office – I want a job where I can have impact on the lives of people and not the bottom line – I want a job that allows me to be there for my family when they need me for WHATEVER. I want a job that I don’t think I could be RIF’d from at any moment. I want a job that GLORIFIES GOD – not a job that keeps me from spending time with HIM.

    Thank you – I feel better.

  6. Well, I think you know how I feel…I took a job to get me here and to earn something while I was looking for a good job…I took another job because I was going broke with the first job…I don’t like the job I have now because of the schedule…I’m getting too old to keep bouncing around…would love to find something in ministry or missions that I was qualified for…but in answer to your question, I think the majority of us dread Monday mornings, but we’ve become such a material world that we have to keep on just to keep our heads above water…the wolves are at the door, because we have given in to worldly ways….

  7. I can honestly say I do love my job but I DO NOT love the non sense at my job. I have the honor of working with Veterans that have a spinal cord injury or disorder on many levels including health care, education, recreation and rehabilitation, and advocacy/legislative issues concerning the disable. I am passionate about fighting for their rights and benefits. With that said I face daily challenges from the organization’s Board of Directors. One issue is that I am young female who works for a population that is made up of mostly older men. I make it a point to read and know what I am talking about before I speak on a subject. I think that intimidation is one of their fears therefore, I feel as though they do not respect my knowledge and input. Recently I was promoted to an executive level position and seems to have only gotten worse.

    Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to approach this issue without totally loosing it with them. Thanks

Leave a Reply

