Values upon which my life is built

Let me pose a question. What is most important in your life, what’s really important in life? Moses, the greatest world changer in the entire Old Testament settled this issue and that’s one of the reasons why God used Moses in such an awesome way. He clarified his values, he clarified his priorities, he knew what was important, he knew what was unimportant.

Hebrews 11:26 says, “He regarded disgrace for the sake of Christ as of greater value than the treasures of Egypt because he was looking ahead to his reward.” Notice “regarded”. That indicates a value judgment. It means “to evaluate, to consider, to weigh in the balance, to judge the value.” Moses basically sat down and said, “What are going to be my values and what am I going to live on?”

If I asked you to quickly make a list of the values you base your life on, could you even identify them? Have you ever sat down and made a list and said, “These are going to be the ten values that I build my life on.” How can you live by them if you’ve never even identified them? What a tragedy to go through life valueless. You have values but unless you clarify them, identify them, determine what they are and even put them on paper, they’re going to tend to go out the door when things get difficult.

Am I out of line to ask you to take a little time and make a list of values that you can say, “These are the things I want to build my life around.” Love, faith, integrity, service… whatever they might be. Make a list of those values so that you can have value-based living.

Here’s a fact of life. If you don’t decide what really matters most to you in life, other people will do it for you. If you don’t decide how you’re going to spend your time there’s plenty of people who will spend your time. God loves you and everybody else has a wonderful plan for your life. And they’ll fill it up and fill up your schedule. You have to determine your priorities or someone else will decide for you.

It is ironic that when you look at Moses’ life, by the world’s standard, he had it made because he had it all. He had power and prestige — he was in line to be Pharaoh. He had pleasure — every whim would be satisfied. And he had possessions — the wealth of the world was concentrated in Egypt. But Moses walked away from it all. Why? Because he had his values right. He knew that these things don’t last.

You want to be used by God but here’s the catch. If you’re going to say “yes” to what God wants to do in your life, you’re going to have to say “no” to many other things. One of the biggest problems we have today is Christians who are unwilling to say no to the world’s standard. They want to live for Jesus and have all the world’s standards at the same time.

But compromise only makes you miserable. You’ve got to learn to say no to the world’s values and yes to God’s values.

Ok, here are the values upon which I build my life.

GOD FIRST, FAMILY SECOND, EVERYTHING ELSE THIRD

LOVING AS JESUS LOVED

INTEGRITY AT ALL TIMES

EXCELLENCE IN ALL THINGS

SERVANTHOOD AND SACRIFICE IN THE NAME OF CHRIST

AUTHENTICITY, REJECTING RELIGION IN FAVOR OF REALNESS

TREATING ALL PEOPLE WITH THE SAME RESPECT AND GRACE

A DAILY CONNECTION WITH THE LORD

FAITH IN GOD AND THE POTENTIAL OF PEOPLE

HELPING AS MANY PEOPLE AS I CAN GET TO HEAVEN

Now, will you take the time to identify your values?

One thought on “Values upon which my life is built

  1. My values are as follows, but sometimes I feel I fall short of them:

    Loving God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength

    Loving my family and others like I liked to be loved

    Faithfulness in reading and studying His Word

    Integrity always

    Honesty with everyone

    Serving others for God’s Glory

    Genuineness in my actions and serving

    A positive attitude

    Humility in my daily living

    Responsibility to God, my family, and others

Leave a Reply

