Does my life matter?

We are taking a little time to answer the three most important questions in life. The first one is addressed in my previous blog posting. It is the question of existence: WHY AM I ALIVE? The second key question of life is the question of significance – DOES MY LIFE MATTER? Isaiah asked this question in Isaiah 49:4a. He said, “My work all seems so useless. I’ve spent my strength for nothing and for no purpose at all.” You were made for meaning, and if you don’t have a meaning and purpose in your life and you don’t know why God put you on this planet, life doesn’t make sense.

You are going to go through life living at one of three levels: The first and lowest level is the Survival level. The Survival level is really where most live today. They’re just in survival mode. They are just barely getting by. They’re just existing. They’re not living. They are controlled by their circumstances. They put in their time and live for the weekend. They’re just in survival mode.

A step up from that, a better way to live, rather than the Survival level, is the Success level. Honestly, this is where some of you are. By the world’s standards, you’ve got it made. You’ve got a comfortable living, compared to the rest of the world; you’re extremely wealthy, compared to the rest of the world. So you have possessions, you have freedom, you have good health and you may have prestige and you may be quite successful. But today there are a lot of books coming out that say things like, “If I’m so successful, how come I don’t feel fulfilled?” The reason is, it takes more than success and it takes more than status to satisfy.

You need to go to the third level of living, which is the Significance level. Not a Survival, not a Success but step up to the level of Significance. How do you live at the Significance level? Well, you get there through three things:

#1: You know the meaning of life – that gives Significance.

#2: You know how much you matter to God – that gives you Significance.

#3: You know God’s vision for your life and you’re living it out and that
gives you Significance.

If you want to know how much you matter to God, look at the next couple of verses from the Bible. God says, “I am your Creator. You were in My care, even before you were born.” (Isaiah 44:2) God was caring for you even in His mind, as He thought you up. The next verse says,”You (talking about God) scheduled each day of my life before I began to breathe. Every day was recorded in your book.” That’s how much you matter to God. He paid so much attention to your life that every detail was recorded in His book, before you even took a breath. That’s how much you matter to God. Do you matter? – Yes. He made you. He made you to love you and the Bible says you do matter.

And God wants you to know how much you matter to Him. God wants you to know the meaning of life. He wants you to know His vision/purposes. And He’s done a lot to help you out in learning these. In the next few weeks we are going to be going there in our Sunday gatherings. We are going to come to understand God’s vision for each of us.

God has extremely long-range plans for you. Look at the next verse, “His plans endure (what?) forever; His purposes last (what?) eternally.” Now listen, the vision we’re going to talk about the next few weeks is not just for the rest of your life on earth, it is for the rest of your life forever and ever, and ever and ever and ever. Because God’s vision for your life is eternal.

God says I have plans and purposes for your life, but they don’t end at death. Because when you die, your heart is going to stop and that will be the end of your body, but that’s not the end of you. You’re far more than a body. You were made to last forever. The Bible says this, Psalm 33:11, “His purposes last eternally. God says, ”I was made to last forever.” I was made to be loved by God, and I was made to last forever. This life is not all there is. One of the biggest ways you can waste your life is thinking all there is, is here and now. You’re going to spend far more time on that side of death, than you do on this side. On this side, you may get to live 60,70,80 or 90 years or so. But that’s just a drop in the bucket compared to eternity. The time you spend on earth really isn’t that very long.

It’s like if you stretched out a line around the world the first millimeter of that line would not even equal how tiny your life is compared to all the time you’re going to spend in eternity. You were made for eternity and life is preparation for eternity. You’re not going to find that in a self-help book, but it’s the truth. Life is preparation for eternity and in the next few weeks we’re going to talk about how you prepare, because this is not all there is. Oh, no. God’s purposes for you are eternal. They are forever. This is the key to the meaning of life, realizing that life is preparation for eternity.

The Bible says this. 2 Corinthians 5:1, “When this tent we live in – our body here on earth – is torn down. God will have a house in Heaven for us to live in. A home He himself has made, which will last forever.” You want to know how much you matter to God. Well, I’ll tell you – you matter so much to God; He wants to keep you with Him for the rest of eternity. For the rest of eternity – that’s how much you matter to God. He wants to keep you with Him forever. That gives meaning. Look at this verse, “Leave your impoverished confusion and live and walk up the street to a life with meaning.” (Proverbs 9:6)
So the question of existence – why am I alive? God answers it by saying, “I made you to love you, that’s why you’re alive.” In the question of Significance – does my life matter? God says, “Oh yeah you matter. You matter so much that I intend on keeping you with Me for the rest of eternity.”

How does that make you feel?

2 thoughts on “Does my life matter?

  1. What a lovely post…thank you!

    As I am days away from celebrating my half-century mark, I find myself looking over my shoulder with gratitude. Grateful that I am no longer “there”. When I was “there”, I didn’t have a clue. Asleep at the wheel as I describe the younger versions of me.

    Now that I’ve been Gifted with my meaning in life (and continue to receive from others their own answers to the meaning), I do look forward to happily skipping through the next decades of my life…living with meaning and helping others to find their meaning, before it’s too late!

    Thank you again for a great post!

    take care,
    Louise Lewis, author
    “No Experts Needed: The Meaning of Life According to YOU!”

    FREE gift (pdf) copy at: http://www.noexpertsneeded.com
    (No strings/spam attached to offer, really! Simply my way of ‘giving back’…Enjoy!

  2. Great post, Steve! Significance is exactly what we need, crave…I’m light years ahead of where I was…a long way to go but moving in the right direction…and you and New Venture are a big part of that!
    Thanks for all you do!

Leave a Reply

