Fantasy Football and Faith

I would be presumptuous if I thought that all my readers understood this entire phenomenon called fantasy football. The way it works is that several people agree to form a league. Then they get together before the NFL (that’s National Football League) season begins and take turns drafting current NFL players onto their team. Then how each player performs in the real games each week earns points for the team that drafts them. Each team can have a certain number of players on it, enough to play some and bench others each week.

I have enjoyed my second season of playing fantasy football. Considering it has been 40 years since I actually played, this gives me a little more football satisfaction than just watching it on TV.

But each week, a large part of winning and loosing is a big game of chance. For example, this past week I was up against our worship guy, Wayne. In the pre-week projections I was projected to annilate him. I was supposed to get almost three times his score for the week. But as it all played out, almost all my guys bombed and several of his guys played above their expectation. It came down to the last game on Monday night and my one player to eek out a win for the week.

Fantasy football is a game of faith and trust and in many cases the one in whom the trust is placed, disappointments. Not so with the God of the universe. He is dependable all the time. He has your back and your front. He wants nothing but the best for you 24/7. Even when we don’t understand it all, He is working everything to our good.

Check this out.  God says, “I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11) That’s not fantasy stuff. Sure it takes faith but faith in a God that has a history of always coming through in the clutch.

So when it looks like your players or your friends are going to let you down, remember, God plays by different rules. He’s solid as a rock.

One thought on “Fantasy Football and Faith

  1. Uhh dude. Just because I am not good at one thing in my life, you don’t have to make me cry about it. I need LOOOOOOOOVVVVVVEEEEEE!!!

Leave a Reply

