I finished reading through the Bible.

This week I finished reading through the Bible in a year. The only problem is that it took me twenty-six month to finish my “read through the Bible in a year” plan. This is my third time reading through it since I have been in ministry leadership, over thirty eight years now. The interesting thing is that two of those times have been since launching New Venture a little over five and a half years ago.

Have you ever attempted to read all the way through the Bible? Sounds a little daunting, doesn’t it. It might be something you give consideration to. Do you believe the Bible? Do you believe the entire Bible? How do you know you believe it all if you haven’t even read it? There might be something in there about puff the magic dragon or Puff Daddy and you weren’t even aware of it.

Here are a few observations from the experience.

1. It takes discipline to keep going. You will never read through the entire Bible unless you set your mind to it and stay the course. You will face numerous challenges.

2. It helps to have a Bible reading plan that you are following that includes some Old Testament and New Testament reading each day. I used the Life Journal that includes a journaling section based on the acrostic S-O-A-P. Check it out at http://www.lifejournal.cc/. Life Journals are available at the welcome center on Sundays.

3. It’s ok to take longer than the prescribed length of the Bible reading plan. Sometimes something else just got in the way. Other times I would read a different devotional book during my “God Time” other than the Bible. The important thing is to keep coming back to it and not giving up.

4. Team up whenever possible. It is good to read through it with someone else who is on track with you. That gives you the opportunity to discuss things you have read that day. Sharon and I talk about our readings all the time to each other and to others.

5. We desperately need the power of being in the Word daily. Starting a new church is a huge undertaking. The opportunity for discouragement and temptation is endless. The only way I have made it to this point, with a healthy walk with God, is my time with Him each day in the Bible. He sets my course for the day. He strengthens my steps. I’m sure you need the same thing.

As I read each day I did so with a highlighter in my hand. My entire Bible is marked up from cover to cover. I highlighted the verses that spoke to me that particular day. What I want to do now is share these verses with others. I am planning on beginning each day on my facebook page with a verse of scripture for the day. It will be one that I have found strength in and hopefully others can also. Just a verse with maybe an observation, statement or question, that’s all. It’s going to be a DAILY CONNECTION WITH GOD.

So, are you up for reading through the Bible in a year? How about twenty-six months?

2 thoughts on “I finished reading through the Bible.

  1. Nothing has ever given me a more “big picture” view of God & all things pertaining to my faith than reading the Bible through – front-2-back. That may seem an obvious by-product to many but I’m not sure that gets the value it ought. It is an amazingly foundational “perspective” effort. I even began doing a different translation each yr for a bit. You see so many relationships across time & various divine purposes more clearly, etc. – td

  2. This was a Good blog post, I will be sure to bookmark this post in my Digg account. Have a awesome day.

Leave a Reply

