It just blows my mind.

When I think of the vastness and the awesomeness of the universe it blows my mind. Astronomers tell us that there are as many as 100 billion stars in our Milky Way Galaxy and that there are as many as 350 billion galaxies out there the size of our galaxy. That just blows my mind.

Just this week the United States sent up the new WISE rocket that is designed to see farther out into the expanse of space than we have ever seen before. And guess what they are going to find, more and more galaxies the size of our Milky Way. The vastness of it blows my mind.

And what blows my mind even more is that there is a God that is so awesome and powerful that He spoke it all into existence. In the beginning of Genesis it says, “The LORD God made the earth and the heavens.” (Gen 2:4) In six days He made it all and then rested.

But what blows my mind most of all is that the God who made it all decided to become one of us and be born as a baby in a stable about 2000 years ago. That’s what Christmas is all about. Can we even begin to fathom that? Our mind just isn’t capable to conceive it all, but He did in spite of our ability to understand it all.

Why? Why would the creator of it all be born as a baby in a place called Bethlehem? I don’t know all the reason but I think I do know a couple. One was so that we could know first hand what God is really like. He is no longer just a cosmic force somewhere out there in time and space. He became one of us so we can know Him personally.

He also left all of glory to walk this earth so that he could provide a way for us to be forgiven of all our sins and spend all of eternity with Him in a place called heaven. That just blows my mind. I am still amazed at the wonder of it all. In fact, I am more amazed by the wonder of it all than at any point in my life.

Do you know how that makes me feel? It makes me want to live the rest of my life with a passion to please the one who created it all. It makes me more determined than ever to trust in Him and serve Him out of absolute gratitude for what he has done for me.

It just blows my mind.

Leave a Reply

