What’s the big deal about Christmas?

In the midst of all our Christmas activities and celebrations a strange thing happens. We lose sight of what it is all about. We disconnect with the meaning and value of the season. In my last post I began addressing the question of why Christmas is so important. I would encourage you to take a minute and read it before continuing on with this entry, but, in case you skip that step, here’s the summary statement. Because Jesus Christ came at Christmas, my past can be forgiven. A simple statement but eternal in impact.

A second reason why Christmas is such a big deal is MY PRESENT CAN BE MANAGED.

I meet stressed out people all the time. I don’t know if it’s the load they are carrying or the economy or just life itself.  It gets to you.  If you look around it seems people are searching for additional power everywhere.  So many bestselling books are all about power.  How to dress for power, how to eat for power, how to shower for power… Power to do this…power to do that. People are always looking for additional energy. Good news.  The Christ who came at Christmas 2000 years ago can give you the power to manage your present problems.

Philippians 4:13 “I have the strength to face all conditions by the power Christ gives me.”  You don’t know what the next year holds, but you can face them all.  God assumes the responsibility to meet your needs.  That’s amazing.  When you decide to become a Christ follower, He assumes responsibility to take care of all your needs.  “God gave us His own Son.  Can we not trust such a God to give us everything else that we need?”  He says He’ll supply all your needs.  If He supplies all your needs, what else is left? Nothing.

Do you know what I do at the beginning of each day? I turn it all over to God. And I invite Him to direct my life. I relinquish management to Him. I give up control. Now that doesn’t mean I then sit back and do nothing. I get on with it as much as anyone. But I’m sensitive to His leading and I let Him take the lead. I let Him sit in the driver’s seat. That’s how all the challenges of life become manageable. Until that happens in my life or any life, we will live in a state of overwhelmness (If that is actually a word. You get the point.)  

He takes care of my past. He takes care of my present.

In my next Christmas post I will discuss one more reason why Christmas is such a big deal. You might be able to guess what is coming.

Leave a Reply

