I cannot be silent or trickle down death!

I can’t remember an election where I was so engaged. I have political signs in my front yard, have attended two candidate rallies, written several blog posts on political issues, provided a voter registration table at church on Sundays, followed the daily political direction on news broad casts and engaged in countless political conversations/debates. I am pumped about this election.

I just believe the direction of our country is headed toward devastation and now is the time to stop the train wreck. And I do not say that as an alarmist, scare tactic. I believe it with all my heart. If we don’t do something now we may never know America as we know it nor as she was in her days of greatness. I believe there are wheels in motion to remake America in ways that we cannot even imagine.

In my blog post dated August 15, 2012 I detailed my reasons for why now is the time to turn this country around and why it is more critical than ever. Here is the link to that post: https://stevethornton.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/i-declare-my-support-election-2012/.

However, the reason for my activism in this political season is influenced by one reason above all others. Let me tell you why. My #1 reason why I cannot be silent and must speak up is this; the sanctity of human life. What do the candidates believe about human life, all human life? What do they stand for and support when it comes to all life and especially the life of INNOCENT unborn children.

This is so crucial because what a person believes about the sanctity of life affects everything he does and every decision he makes. It determines whether or not people are respected and valued for their specialness or are simply used to carry on personal or party agendas. The “value of life” issue influences everything.

Now, when it comes to our two presidential candidates, President Obama, according to Planned Parenthood of Illinois, supported abortion caused 100% of the time while a member of the Illinois senate. He then carried his support for the termination of unwanted children over into his brief stint in the US Senate and then to the White House. He not only supports abortion during any point in pregnancy but has been an outspoken advocate of partial birth abortions, one of the most inhumane acts that can ever be perpetrated on a human being. He has gone so far as to support the termination of babies that might “accidentally” survive the abortion procedure and are birthed alive. There has never been a sitting president who was so pro-abortion.

Mitt Romney, on the other hand was quoted as saying, in the The Boston Globe on July 26, 2005 “I am pro-life. I believe that abortion is the wrong choice except in cases of incest, rape, and to save the life of the mother. I wish the people of America agreed, and that the laws of our nation could reflect that view.” Romney promises during this current campaign to nominate Supreme Court justices who would help overturn Roe v. Wade, allowing states to individually decide on the legality of abortion. His website states that he would “nominate judges who know the difference between personal opinion and the law.”

There could not be a clearer difference in the two presidential candidates when it comes to the crucial issue of the sanctity of human life. It is a clear cut decision of choosing life or choosing death.

I ask you, is there any wonder that we have such a high disregard for life in America? Almost daily we hear of another shooting where innocent life has been taken. But how can we be so shocked when we have been taking the life of innocent humans in America for almost forty years now, dating back to the legalization of Roe vs. Wade in 1973. Since that time we have “terminated” thousands daily and hundreds of thousands yearly in America. Over 80 million abortions have been performed in America since the legalization of abortion in 1973. The holocaust of Europe is minor compared to what goes on every day in America.

I fear that what we are seeing might be call “trickle down death.” Take the life of innocent babies, when they are not “convenient” or “economically feasible,” abort unwanted human life long enough and it is inevitable that the disregard for life will trickle down to the very core of our country. I am afraid that we will see more and more taking of innocent life all around us in shocking proportion. I am deeply concerned that what we are seeing is merely the beginning and that it will only get worse from here.

I know what I have just stated could be an overstatement, that the wholesale abortion of unwanted babies for the last forty years has led to an environment of death and killing in America. But we cannot ignore, and we must own up to the fact, that when you legalize the killing of the most innocent people in our society, it only goes downhill from there. What started with Roe vs. wade in 1973 has deeply affected our country’s mindset on the value of life every since.

It is time to turn things around. I don’t have all the answers but I do know that the next president will possibly have the responsibility of appointing one or two new justices to the Supreme Court. That is country changing. That is life saving. That is monumental.

It is time to speak up for the sanctity of human life with our vote on November 6. It is time to do what we can do NOW to stop trickle down death in the greatest country on the face of this earth.

One thought on “I cannot be silent or trickle down death!

  1. May we all speak the same language! i enjoyed your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

